LibGuides: Company & Industry Information: Articles

Scholarly vs. Popular

SCHOLARLY	POPULAR
Peer-reviewed (aka refereed)	Written for general readership
Written by professionals	Variety of authors
Include extensive references	Limited to no references
E.g. Harvard Law Review	E.g. The Wall Street Journal

When you are writing an academic paper, you usually want to stick to scholarly sources. When you are performing business law-related research, however, you may need to look to popular materials for the answers. Business information can come from all types of sources. When you need up-to-date information on things like stock prices, contemporary news stories, or the latest business regulations, popular materials may be your best bet for finding the answer.

The resources on this page will help you find both scholarly and popular materials.

Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/Inform Complete is a comprehensive business database containing articles in newspapers, scholarly journals, business magazines, trade journals, and regional business publications and cover a very wide variety of topics in business and economics including the Wall Street Journal, Academy of Management Journal, the MIT Sloan Management Review, and The Economist. Includes coverage of over 68,000 different business periodicals.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that contains both citations and full text scholarly articles for all disciplines of business including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, and POM. This database also contains every issue of the Harvard Business Review, financial data, books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, and SWOT analyses
Factiva
Factiva offers news publications from around the world, including the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and newswires from the Associated Press and Reuters. The "News Pages" are particularly useful for reading major publications for a specific geographic area or within an industry. Factiva also has terrific stock and market graphing capabilities, which are found under the "Companies/Markets" tab.
Lexis+ News
Lexis+ aggregates a wide variety of U.S. and international news sources (individual login required)

Individual Publications

Barron's
The Dow Jones business and financial weekly.
Bloomberg Businessweek
Weekly business magazine
The Economist
Monthly publication focusing on worldly business issues.
Forbes
Covers domestic and international business news.
Fortune
Magazine covering contemporary financial and other business news.
Inc.
Focuses on small business issues.
Philadelphia Business Journal
Newspaper covering business in the Philly region. Registration using Drexel email required, select Drexel University Business Journal Subscription #1.
Wall Street Journal
Daily newspaper covering business and financial news

Company & Industry Information: Articles

Quick Links

Scholarly vs. Popular

Databases

Individual Publications