LibGuides: Environmental Law: Study Guides & Secondary Sources

Description of Resources

Study guides are intended for law students learning about a particular body of law, and may include subject outlines or practice questions.

Treatises are intended for practitioners, and provide more in-depth guidance. They may include sample forms or checklists, and are usually updated periodically to reflect new developments in the law. If you are researching an area of law that you are unfamiliar with, finding a treatise covering the subject is a good way to get started. Most of the LRC's treatises are available electronically through Westlaw or Lexis.

Current awareness tools gather recent news, cases, and legislative/regulatory developments, helping practitioners stay up-to-date on a particular area of law. Furthermore, each of the major legal databases offers practice-specific pages collecting resources on particular areas of the law.

Study Guides

The LRC offers access to environmental law study guides in eBook format. You can read the books online in any browser on a number of devices, including PC, Mac, iPad/iPhone, or Android devices.

A few of our online study aids regarding environmental law are listed below (descriptions provided by publishers). For a complete listing of online study guides available through the LRC, please visit the Aspen Learning Library and West Academic Study Aids.

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) also offers a number of online video lessons relating to environmental law. CALI lessons are free for Drexel students. You can pick up a password card at the LRC reference desk.

If you prefer studying with physical books, we've got you covered! The LRC has a number of environmental law study guides available on reserve. Reserve books can be checked out for two hours.

Climate Change Law by Daniel Farber; Cinnamon Carlarne
ISBN: 9781636596266
Publication Date: 2022-12-13
Climate Change Law is the first book to offer a concise, readable treatment of this entire rapidly evolving body of law. Climate law runs the gamut from state and local regulations to federal policies and international agreements and includes both public and private sector involvement. This issue is just too important to leave to specialists alone. The focus is on core concepts of climate change law rather than all of the complex details. The book begins by discussing the scientific and policy issues that frame the legal scheme, including the state of climate science, the meaning of the social cost of carbon, and the variety of tools that are available to reduce carbon emissions. It then covers in turn the international, national, and state efforts in this sphere. Finally, the book turns to the challenge of adapting to climate change, before exploring the concept of geoengineering and the potential challenges associated with using geoengineering as a tool for addressing climate change. The new edition covers major developments such as the Supreme Court's decision in West Virginia v. EPA, Trump Administration rollbacks and their subsequent fates, climate litigation brought by state and local governments, and the implementation of the Paris Agreement. The book is designed to be accessible to a broad range of readers, not just those who have backgrounds in climate science, environmental economics, or law.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Environmental Law by Linda A. Malone
ISBN: 9781543827309
Publication Date: 2021-07-23
Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam: ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams. They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline--perfect for exam review!
Environmental Law and Policy by James Salzman; Barton Thompson Jr.
ISBN: 9781683287902
Publication Date: 2019-01-14
Environmental Law and Policy is a user-friendly, concise, inexpensive treatment of environmental law. Written to be read pleasurably rather than used as a dry reference source, the authors provide a broad conceptual overview of environmental law while also explaining the major statutes and cases. The updated text also describes initiatives launched by the Trump administration. The first part of the book provides an engaging discussion of the major themes and issues that cross-cut environmental law. The second part of the book examines the substance of environmental law, with separate sections on each of the major statutes. The third part of the book describes natural resources law, discussing endangered species conservation, wetlands protection, water and energy issues. Part four addresses environmental impact statements and the National Environmental Policy Act. The book has wide adoption, not only in law schools, but also in graduate and undergraduate classes outside law school.
Environmental Law in a Nutshell by Daniel Farber
ISBN: 9781640201132
Publication Date: 2019-05-22
Farber's Environmental Law in a Nutshell provides an up-to-date foundation for understanding environmental law. Expert text includes coverage of the full range of environmental issues, from climate change and air pollution, to waste disposal and wetlands. Surveys the many statutory and common-law regulations shaping the world in which we live.
Environmental Law Stories by Richard Lazarus; Oliver Houck
ISBN: 9781587787287
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
The stories in this book feature characters as diverse as community activists, small farmers, big businesses, dedicated scientists, skilled lawyers, strong-willed judges, and Presidents of the United States. Four of the ten selected cases established the field of environmental law, three others refined it, and the final three have sought to limit its effectiveness and reach. This selection mirrors the development of the field of environmental law, from the first, heady days of its creation to its current conflicts with other laws and values, including some embedded in the Constitution.
Examples and Explanations for Environmental Law by Steven Ferrey
ISBN: 9781543850086
Publication Date: 2022-01-13
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

Books & Treatises

If you are doing more in-depth research, treatises can be a valuable resource. Both Lexis and Westlaw offer online treatises regarding environmental law. Some selected print resources in the LRC's collection are listed below.

Indigenous Peoples and Water Resource Management: Not Just Another Stakeholder by Katie O'Bryan
ISBN: 9780815375425
Publication Date: 2018-10-23
In an era of climate change, the need to manage our water resources effectively for future generations has become an increasingly significant challenge. Indigenous management practices have been successfully used to manage inland water systems around the world for thousands of years, and Indigenous people have been calling for a greater role in the management of water resources. As First Peoples and as holders of important knowledge of sustainable water management practices, they regard themselves as custodians and rights holders, deserving of a meaningful role in decision-making. This book argues that a key (albeit not the only) means of ensuring appropriate participation in decision-making about water management is for such participation to be legislatively mandated. To this end, the book draws on case studies in Australia and New Zealand in order to elaborate the legislative tools necessary to ensure Indigenous participation, consultation and representation in the water management landscape.
Climate Change, Public Health, and the Law by Michael Burger (Editor); Justin Gundlach (Editor)
ISBN: 9781108417624
Publication Date: 2018-10-25
The first comprehensive explication of the dynamic interactions between climate change, public health law, and environmental law, both in the United States and internationally. Responding to climate change and achieving public health protections each require the coordination of the decisions and behavior of large numbers of people. However, they also involve interventions that risk compromising individual rights. The challenges involved in coordinating large-scale responses to public health threats and protecting against the invasion of rights, makes the law indispensable to both of these agendas. Written for the benefit of public health and environmental law professionals and policymakers in the United States and in the international public health sector, this volume focuses on the legal components of pursuing public health goals in the midst of a changing climate. It will help facilitate efforts to develop, improve, and carry out policy responses at the international, federal, state, and local levels.
Green Crimes and Dirty Money by Toine Spapens (Editor); Rob White (Editor); Daan Van Uhm (Editor); Wim Huisman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780815372219
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Environmental crimes are primarily driven by financial motives. The combined financial value of illicit trade in protected wildlife, illegal logging and waste trafficking is estimated to come directly after counterfeiting, the narcotic drugs trade and illegal gambling. Logically, the proceeds of these crimes must also be laundered. Goods, however, are not the only money maker for environmental criminals. Corporations may also try to 'save' costs by not complying with environmental regulations and thus commit crimes of omission rather than commission. From an enforcement and compliance perspective focusing on the proceeds of crime may therefore be an effective strategy. This book brings together different perspectives on the financial aspects of environmental crime and harm from a green criminological viewpoint.

News & Current Awareness

Databases

GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Lexis - Climate Change Resource Kit
This resource kit collects Practical Guidance resources addressing climate change, including practice notes, forms, clauses, and checklists, and secondary sources.
Lexis - Environmental Law
This page collects Lexis resources on environmental law, including statutes, regulations, caselaw, and secondary sources.
Lexis - Environmental Protection Resource Kit
This resource kit provides an overview of environmental protection practical guidance and regulation related to Climate Change, Clean Energy, and ESG. It also includes select environmental Executive Orders, and a summary of environmental legislative actions.
Lexis - ESG Resource Kit
This resource kit collects Practical Guidance resources addressing Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) issues and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR).
Lexis - Practical Law Energy & Utilities
Lexis's Practical Law page on Energy & Utilities gathers a wide array of explainers and practice-oriented resources relating to energy, including resources on environmental regulation and green energy.
PA Department of Environmental Protection Reports
The PA Department of Environmental Protection provides easy access to dozens of online reports and key data about the many programs the agency administers.
Westlaw - Energy & Environment
This page collects Westlaw resources on environmental law, including statutes, regulations, caselaw, and secondary sources.
Westlaw - Environmental, Social, and Governance Toolkit
ESG is an umbrella term for a broad range of environmental, social, and governance factors that entities consider when making decisions and against which investors, consumers, and other stakeholders can assess the standards of a corporation or other entity. The Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) Toolkit: US includes resources that provide ESG and corporate social responsibility guidance, broken down by topic.

Quick Links

Contact Information

For general inquiries about services, events, or access to library resources, please contact lawlib@klinelaw.libanswers.com

For questions about legal research, help finding books or articles, or assistance using legal databases, please contact one of our reference librarians: David Haendler, Lindsay Steussy, or Jessa Feiler. You can also schedule an appointment for an in-person or Zoom reference consultation, or ask questions using the Ask a Law Librarian chat feature on our website.

For questions about course reserves, please contact Margaret DeFelice.

Library hours

Library staff directory