LibGuides: Databases A-Z: U

U

United Nations Documentation Center
Provides access to full text of all United Nations resolutions from 1946 to present, and full text of most other UN official documents (also known as “parliamentary documents”) from 1993 to present, with selected coverage of UN documents other than resolutions prior to 1993. Includes a research guide on UN Documentation, as well as numerous others on topical issues of interest. Enables browsing of documents by organization, or searching a database of documents, the UN Official Document System (“ODS”).

The system also includes a blog announcing new UN documents, maps, the current UN daily agenda, UN Webcasts, and the UN Library catalog, which links to UN voting records (for the Security Council from 1946-present, and the General Assembly from 1983-present).

The system does not include the following types of publications: conference room papers, certain working papers, press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series, or brochures issued by the UN Department of Public Information.

Coverage: 1946-present
United Nations Treaty Collection
This official collection includes the continuously updated Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (MTDSG), The United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) (1946-2013, updates ongoing), and The League of Nations Treaty Series (1920-1944), as well as other treaties and documents. The entirety of the site can be searched, and each of the three main databases also has a separate advanced search. There is a Cumulative Index for the UNTS as well.
The site also contains a number of other UN publications, including:
- Monthly Statement of Treaties and International Agreements
- Treaty Handbook
- Handbook of Final Clauses
- Summary of Practice of the Secretary-General as Depositary of Multilateral Treaties
- Notes verbales from the Legal Counsel relating to the depositary practice and the registration of treaties pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter
- Secretary-General’s Bulletin
- Annual Treaty Event Publications
Coverage: 1920-present
U.S. Congressional Documents Library

A HeinOnline database covering U.S. Congressional documents beginning with the Journals of the Continental Congress and continuing through the Daily Edition of the Congressional Record. Browse to an individual source, and then use any of a number of search methods, including keyword, citation, Member of Congress, Bill Number, and more (depending on source). More assistance can be found in the Quick Reference Guide.
Contents include:
- U.S. Statutes at Large (1789-2004)
- Congressional Record (Permanent Edition 1873-2011) (with more volumes to be added each month)
- Congressional Record (Daily Edition 1980-present)
- Annals of Congress (1789-1824)
- Register of Debates (1824-1837)
- Congressional Globe (1833-1873)
- American State Papers (1789-1838)
- Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789)
- Congressional Hearings (50th-present)
- Congressional Budget Office Bill Cost Estimates
- Rules and Precedents for Congress
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs

Contains records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. It is a major primary source tool for the study of American history and the U.S. judicial system. Many of the cases are ones for which the Court did not provide a full opinion. Searchable by specific keywords or phrases, author (counsel or organization), case name, court term year and document filing date, U.S. Reports citation number, and more.

Subject Guide

Lindsay Steussy

she/her

Email Me