LibGuides: Databases A-Z: P

P

Proceedings of the Old Bailey (Historical Criminal Trials)
Fully searchable texts detailing accounts of over 190,000 criminal trials held at London's Central Criminal Court. The crimes tried were mostly felonies (predominantly theft), but also include some of the most serious misdemeanours, providing historical insight into the daily lives of those who participated in the proceedings.

Coverage: 1674-1913

In addition to searching by keyword, name, and date, the accounts can be browsed or searched by offense, verdict, and punishment.
ProQuest Congressional

An excellent database for researching legislative history, statutory law, and Congressional information. In particular, it contains complete legislative histories for Federal laws passed from 1969-present.

Use the "Search by Number" option to find documents by Bill Number, Public Law Number, Government Document citations, and Congressional Record pages, among others. Also searchable by keyword and subject terms.
Coverage: 1789-present, varies by type

Included documents:
- Full-text of U.S. Statutes at Large (1789-present)
- Serial Set (House and Senate Reports complete from 1789-1969 and 1991-present; House and Senate Documents complete from 1789-1969, with selective coverage from 1995-present)
- Congressional Hearings (selected from 1965-2007, will eventually extend back to 1824)
- Committee Prints (selected from 1993-present, will eventually extend back to 1830)
- Congressional Record (Daily Edition, 1985-present)
- Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present)
- Federal Legislative Histories (1969-present)
- Indexes to Congressional Publications (1789-present)
ProQuest Research Library
Interdisciplinary database that covers publications and periodicals in Business, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences. Includes an index to more than 3,880 journal titles, over 2,620 with full text.

Includes customized search forms for each topic area. May be searched by keyword or subject terms.

Coverage: 1971-present

Subject Guide

Lindsay Steussy

she/her

Email Me