LibGuides: Career &amp; Practice Guide: Business and Entrepreneurship Law

Business & Entrepreneurship Law Career Resource Guide

This career guide provides examples of opportunities for law students pursuing a career in business and entrepreneurship law. Please contact the CSO with any additional resources to supplement this compilation. Many of the employers listed below participate in On Campus Interviewing (OCI), GPALS Job Fairs, and job posting via Symplicity. Contact the CSO with any questions.

Professional Associations & Networking Organizations

ABA Business Law Section
Membership in the ABA Business Law Section provides opportunities to attend meetings, network, present on a panel, and participate in leadership opportunities.
Pennsylvania Bar Association Business Law Section
This section, through its various task forces, plays a critical role in the enactment process for bills affecting the commercial and business entity law of the Commonwealth.
Philadelphia Bar Association Business Law Section
The Business Law Section offers business lawyers numerous educational opportunities across a broad range of substantive areas as well as opportunities to network with other attorneys sharing similar professional interests.
Philly Tech Meetup
Philly Tech Meetup convenes technologists, entrepreneurs, investors and the broader innovation community regularly to learn, share, and network. Each month, hundreds of innovators gather to see demos, launch products and meet their future co-founders, partners and funders.

Internships & Job Opportunities: Government

Arizona Handbooks: Government Honors and Internship Handbook
This handbook contains information about all federal government honors programs, including the EPA Honors Program. Agencies include SEC, IRS, FTC, CFPB, and FDIC, and many others. See Symplicity for password.
City of Philadelphia Law Department: Corporate & Tax Group
Includes the Tax, Regulatory Affairs, Commercial Law, Property Assessment, and Economic Development and Investments Units.
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB)
This agency helps consumer finance markets work by providing consumers with information to understand the terms of their agreements with financial companies, by making rules more effective, by consistently and fairly enforcing those rules, and by empowering consumers to take more control over their economic lives.
Department of Treasury, Office of General Counsel
Responsible for a wide range of activities such as advising the President on economic and financial issues, encouraging sustainable economic growth, and fostering improved governance in financial institutions.
Federal Deposit Insurance Program (FDIC)
Preserves and promotes public confidence in the U.S. financial system by insuring deposits, examining and supervising financial institutions for safety and consumer protection, making large and complex financial institutions resolvable, and managing receiverships. Career opportunities include a legal intern program and honors attorney program.
Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
Prevents business practices that are anticompetitive, deceptive or unfair to consumers. Examples of legal opportunities in the FTC's Bureau of Consumer Protection include attorney positions, legal internships, and a summer law clerk program.
Internal Revenue Service, Department of Treasury
The IRS is a bureau of the Department of the Treasury that helps America’s taxpayers understand and meet their tax responsibilities.
Pennsylvania Office of General Counsel (OGC)
OGC represents the Governor and Commonwealth agencies including the Department of Banking and Securities, Office of the Budget, and Department of Revenue.
Securities and Exchange Commission
The mission of the SEC is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation.
Small Business Administration
Aids, counsels, assists and protects the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation.
U.S. Department of Justice, Tax Division
Tax Division attorneys work closely with the IRS and U.S. Attorneys’ Offices to develop tax administration policies; handle civil trial and appellate litigation in federal and state courts; pursue federal grand jury investigations; and handle criminal prosecutions and appeals.
U.S. Tax Court
A law clerk or attorney adviser to a Judge or Special Trial Judge performs legal research, digesting, drafting, and related assignments on tax cases tried before the judges.

Internships & Job Opportunities: Private Sector

· Large accounting firms (e.g., Deloitte) hire attorneys specializing in tax, finance, and other areas

· In-house corporate legal departments - http://jobline.acc.com/jobs/ (diversity corporate law department programs advertised on Symplicity; contact the CSO with questions).

· Law Firms – Symplicity spreadsheets; NALP Employer Directory; www.martindale.com (search by practice area and geographical location)

· Keiretsu Forum – Keiretsu Mid-Atlantic, formed in 2011 and comprised of the Philadelphia, Washington, DC Metro, Pittsburgh, and New York Chapters, is committed to being the most successful and distinguished private equity angel investment organizations in the region. http://www.keiretsuforum.com/global-chapters/philadelphia/

From the Collection

Picturing Corporate Practice by Jay A. Mitchell
Call Number: KF1414 .M582 2016
ISBN: 1634604644
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Picturing Corporate Practice is intended for law students interested in corporate and transactional work and for lawyers new to the practice. The book includes a brief overview of corporate practice and chapters focused on advice development, transaction planning and management, legal documents, board meetings, litigation (from a corporate perspective), SEC filings, corporate pro bono, and client service. The book features a user-friendly design, informal writing style, and over 50 diagrams, timelines, and other graphics. It includes considerable vocabulary, how-things-work information, and practical suggestions for the new lawyer. In addition, the book offers ideas for using visual approaches in dealing with problems, plans, and documents across the practice. The author is a Stanford Law School professor who practiced for many years as a senior in-house lawyer and law firm partner before joining Stanford to develop and direct its transactional clinic.

Additional Resources

TheCorporateCounsel.net
An educational service that provides practical guidance on legal issues involving corporate and securities regulation.

Career & Practice Guide: Business and Entrepreneurship Law

Guide Contents