Experiential Learning Research Guide: Dockets & E-Filing Resources

Lexis's docket coverage includes federal courts and selected state courts.

Westlaw's docket coverage includes federal courts and selected state courts.

The Supreme Court's Docket Search covers cases filed from the 2001 term to the present.

The federal court system's database of case and docket information. Searching is very limited and usually requires party name, docket number and court. A modest fee is charged for downloading documents.

Free archive of dockets and filings from PACER gathered by users of the RECAP browser extension. Note that RECAP does not contain dockets for every case in PACER.

Search covers appellate courts, criminal Common Pleas cases, and Magisterial District Courts. To search civil Common Pleas (trial court) dockets, your best bet is to check the Prothonotary's website for a particular county.

Search Philadelphia County Court of Common Pleas (civil or criminal), Orphans' Court, or Municipal Court Traffic Division records.

Use this link to search civil dockets in New Jersey state courts. Documents from most recent cases are available for free.

Search covers civil cases in the Superior Court, Court of Common Pleas and Justice of the Peace Court. Does not cover the Court of Chancery.

This Practice Note provides an overview on how to electronically file (e-file) documents in the Pennsylvania courts of common pleas, which are trial courts of general jurisdiction. Specifically, this Note explains what rules govern e-filing, the hardware and software requirements for e-filing, and how to register for access to a court's electronic filing system (EFS). It also identifies the local courts that have authorized e-filing and provides an overview of formatting, filing, and service issues, how to address technical difficulties, and post-filing best practices.

A Practice Note providing an overview on electronic filing (e-filing) using eCourts Civil for all actions in the New Jersey Superior Court, Law Division, Civil Part and foreclosure actions in the Chancery Division, General Equity Part. Specifically, this Note explains who can use eCourts Civil, exceptions to mandatory e-filing, and how to navigate the electronic case jacket.