LibGuides: 1L Welcome Guide: Contracts

Guide Contents

Use the tabs at the top of the page or the links below to navigate through this guide.

What is a Contract?

According to Black's Law Dictionary, a contract is "[a]n agreement between two ormore parties creating obligations that are enforceable or otherwise recognizable at law."

Related Guides

Course Reserves
by Margaret DeFelice Last Updated May 1, 2024 1496 views this year
Contract Law
by David Haendler Last Updated Jan 12, 2024 110 views this year

Contracts Study Guides

Here are some of the study guides that the Legal Research Center has available for contracts. They are on reserve behind the circulation desk and can be checked out for 2 hours for in-library use only.

Chirelstein's Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts (7th ed.) by Marvin A. Chirelstein
Call Number: KF801.C44 2013 (Law Reserves) [Also available online]
ISBN: 9781609303303
Publication Date: 2013-06-03
Series: Concepts and Insights
Recommended in more than 100 schools, the updated seventh edition of Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts is a readable primer that offers first-year law students a reliable overview of the major themes and leading cases in the field of the law of contracts. This contracts primer is straightforward and uncluttered, covering the main themes of the first-year contracts course, together with related cases.
Contracts (7th ed.) by Joseph Perillo
Call Number: KF801.P47 2014 (Law Reserves) [Also available online]
ISBN: 9780314287700
Publication Date: 2014-08-21
Series: Hornbooks
The author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subjects of separate chapters.
Contracts in a Nutshell (8th ed.) by Claude Rohwer; Anthony Skrocki; Michael Malloy
Call Number: KF801.Z9 R62 2017 (Law Reserves) [9th ed. available online]
ISBN: 1634599144
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Series: Nutshells
This Nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains expert explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. It also includes the basics of the Law of Restitution and an introduction to digital contracting.
Examples and Explanations for Contracts (7th ed.) by Brian A. Blum
Call Number: KF801.B58 2017 (Law Reserves) [8th ed. available online]
ISBN: 9781454868415
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Series: Examples and Explanations
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
Glannon Guide to Contracts (1st ed.) by Theodore Silver
Call Number: KF801.Z9 S49 2013 (Law Reserves) [3d ed. available online]
ISBN: 9780735557963
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Series: Glannon Guides
This student-friendly study guide offers a clear, concise and complete explanation of contract law through skillful use of multiple-choice questions. Addressing all topics covered in standard first-year contract courses, it provides an expository review of key points of law and illustrative scenarios, followed by probing multiple-choice questions. All possible answers are deconstructed through careful explanation and analysis, leading the student through the logic of why the correct answer was correct and, importantly, why the others were not. Important test-taking techniques and tactics receive thorough coverage throughout the text, making The Glannon Guide to Contracts an invaluable aid for first-year students trying to navigate the complexities of contract law.
Inside Contract Law: What Matters and Why by Michael B. Kelly
Call Number: KF801.Z9 K455 2011 (Law Reserves) [Also available online]
ISBN: 9781454827634
Publication Date: 2010-10-16
Series: Inside Series
With dynamic learning features and visual aids, the Inside Series helps you make the most of your study time, throughout the semester and as you prepare for the final. Unlike heavily abridged treatises, the Inside Series is carefully written in a concise, straightforward style that clearly identifies the essential components of the law and how they fit together. You can quickly learn what is important and why.
Mastering Contract Law by Irma S. Russell; Barbara K. Bucholtz
Call Number: KF801.R87 2011 (Law Reserves)
ISBN: 9781594602870
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Mastering Contract Law explores the basic principles and purposes of contract law, including a discussion of background principles and traditions of private ordering. The book explains contract formation, interpretation, and the requirement of written evidence for enforcement of certain types of promises. It explores the themes and doctrines of reliance, restitution, and the importance of public policy in contract law.
Principles of Contract Law (4th ed.) by Robert A. Hillman
Call Number: KF801.H548 2014 (Law Reserves) [5th ed. available online]
ISBN: 9781640202139
Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Series: Concise Hornbook Series
This overview of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, often humorous style that has made it popular with students over the years. For ease of reading and understanding, the book refrains from including complex textual footnotes. Instead, the footnotes cite cases, with most including short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text. The book also contains numerous examples and illustrations. Cross references enable readers to review concepts that constitute building blocks for the current material.
A Short & Happy Guide to Contracts (1st ed.) by Bruce A. Markell; David G. Epstein; Lawrence Ponoroff
Call Number: KF801.Z9 E674 2012 (Law Reserves) [2d ed. available online]
ISBN: 9780314277930
Publication Date: 2012-01-11
Series: Short & Happy Guides
This efficient guide to contracts will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on making the key concepts of contract law, and the relationship among those concepts, easier to understand and retain. They have also infused the book with humor, believing there is nothing inconsistent between a rigorous academic experience and having a little fun.
Siegel's Contracts by Brian N. Siegel; Lazar Emanuel
Call Number: KF801.Z9 S47 2012 (Law Reserves)
ISBN: 9781454809265
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Series: Siegel's Series
The Siegel's Series works through key topics in a Q&A format, providing an additional source for self-quizzing. A proven resource for high performance, each title in this exam-prep series contains multiple-choice questions and answers, as well as essay questions with model answers.
Understanding Contracts (4th ed.) by Jeffrey Ferriell
Call Number: KF801.Z9 F46 2018 (Law Reserves)
ISBN: 9781531009939
Publication Date: 2018-05-23
Series: Understanding Series
Understanding Contracts was written to help law students with what is likely to be one of their most challenging first-year courses. It explains how key concepts apply in several recurring basic fact patterns. It then builds on those fact patterns to explain how the law is more difficult to apply in business transactions with more complex facts.

These study guides are available online through Aspen Learning Library. For help using Aspen Learning Library, see Aspen's User Guides for web browsers, iPhone/iPad, Android phones/tablets, Mac, or Windows.

Emanuel CrunchTime for Contracts by Steven L. Emanuel
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781454880073
Publication Date: 2016
Series: Emanuel CrunchTime
When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers, you will be prepared for your next big test.
Emanuel Law Outlines: Contracts by Steven L. Emanuel
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781454873693
Publication Date: 2015
Series: Emanuel Law Outlines
The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process.
Examples and Explanations for Contracts (8th ed.) by Brian A. Blum
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF801.B58 2017 (Law Reserves)
ISBN: 9781454868415
Publication Date: 2017
Series: Examples and Explanations
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
Friedman's Contracts (2d ed.) by Joel Wm Friedman
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781454827528
Publication Date: 2009
Series: Friedman's Practice Series
Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real law school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final.
Glannon Guide to Contracts (3d ed.) by Theodore Silver & Stephen Hochberg
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781543806878
Publication Date: 2019
Series: Glannon Guides
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand with straightforward explanations of tough concepts and hypos that help you understand their application.
Inside Contract Law: What Matters and Why by Michael B. Kelly
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781454827634
Publication Date: 2010
Series: Inside Series
With dynamic learning features and visual aids, the Inside Series helps you make the most of your study time, throughout the semester and as you prepare for the final. Unlike heavily abridged treatises, the Inside Series is carefully written in a concise, straightforward style that clearly identifies the essential components of the law and how they fit together. You can quickly learn what is important and why. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you how each relates to the larger legal framework. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars give fascinating additional detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more.

Audio/Video:

Contract Law: In Other Words Audio Series by Andrew Schwartz
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781543823882
Publication Date: 2020
Series: In Other Words
The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Contract Law lectures, Andrew Schwartz explains the topics Acceptance of the Offer, Communication of Acceptance, Contractual Assent and Objective Test, Excuse Due to Changed Circumstances, Minority Doctrine, Offer, Specific Performance and Injunctions, Termination of the Power of Acceptance, and UCC Battle of the Forms.
Contract Law: In Other Words Video Series by Andrew Schwartz
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781543824094
Series: In Other Words
The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Contract Law lectures, Andrew Schwartz explains the topics Acceptance of the Offer, Communication of Acceptance, Contractual Assent and Objective Test, Excuse Due to Changed Circumstances, Minority Doctrine, Offer, Specific Performance and Injunctions, Termination of the Power of Acceptance, and UCC Battle of the Forms.

These study guides are available online through West Academic Study Aids.

Acing Contracts (2d ed.) by Suzanne Darrow-Kleinhaus
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780314171719
Publication Date: 2022
Series: Acing Series
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offer the systematic approach to problem-solving found in this book.
Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts (Objective) by Robert D. Brain
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781634590280
Publication Date: 2014
Series: Exam Pro Series
Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts, Objective Questions includes over 330 objective questions covering every substantive area of Contract Law. Each answer choice explains why it is either correct or incorrect. Elements and rules are explained in easy-to-understand language, with a step-by-step guide on how to analyze question-types. Liberal citation to applicable sections of the Restatement (Second) Contracts, the Uniform Commercial Code, and important contract law cases, allows the students to match a question to his or her outline and class discussion.
Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts (Essay) by Robert D. Brain
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780314286048
Publication Date: 2014
Series: Exam Pro Series
This Exam Pro consists of essay questions actually given by Contracts professors throughout the United States. Every question contains a detailed explanation, along with analytical steps explained in easy-to-understand, basic language, and a step-by-step guide on how to analyze each major issue. Both Professor "model" answers and student "actual" answers are provided to allow students to get a feel for all the issues that could have been discussed on some questions, and what is realistic for a student to actually answer under timed conditions.
Chirelstein's Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts (7th ed.) by Marvin A. Chirelstein
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781609303303
Publication Date: 2013
Series: Concepts and Insights
Recommended in more than 100 schools, the updated seventh edition of Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts is a readable primer that offers first-year law students a reliable overview of the major themes and leading cases in the field of the law of contracts. This contracts primer is straightforward and uncluttered, covering the main themes of the first-year contracts course, together with related cases.
Contracts (7th ed.) by Joseph Perillo
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780314287700
Publication Date: 2014
Series: Hornbooks
The author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.
Contracts in a Nutshell (9th ed.) by Claude Rohwer, Anthony Skrocki & Michael Malloy
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1634599144
Publication Date: 2022
Series: Nutshells
This Nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains expert explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. It also includes the basics of the Law of Restitution and an introduction to digital contracting.
Principles of Contract Law (5th ed.) by Robert A. Hillman
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781640202139
Publication Date: 2023
Series: Concise Hornbook Series
This overview of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, often humorous style that has made it popular with students over the years. For ease of reading and understanding, the book refrains from including complex textual footnotes. Instead, the footnotes cite cases, with most including short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text. The book also contains numerous examples and illustrations. Cross references enable readers to review concepts that constitute building blocks for the current material.
A Short & Happy Guide to Contracts (2d ed.) by David Epstein; Bruce Markell; Lawrence Ponoroff
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781640207523
Publication Date: 2019
Series: Short & Happy Guides
This efficient and exceedingly effective guide to Contracts will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on making the key concepts of contract law, and the relationship among those concepts, easier to understand and retain. The authors have also infused the book with humor, believing there is nothing inconsistent between a rigorous academic experience and having a little fun.

Audio/Video:

Law School Legends Audio on Contracts by David G. Epstein
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2018
Series: Law School Legends Audio Series
With Law School Legends, students get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject in one simple, dynamic lecture. In these audio CDs, Professor David Epstein explains the important contract law concepts, the relationship among those concepts, and how a student can use the concepts to answer any question a professor might ask in class or on the exam.
Sum and Substance Audio on Contracts by Robert D. Brain
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2018
Series: Sum and Substance Audio
In this CD series the essentials of contract law are provided in a clear and convenient format. Topics are covered in the sequence of most casebooks and are broken up into tracks so the student can quickly focus on areas which need further explanation without having to listen to material already mastered. Major cases in contract law are analyzed and explained, and numerous hypotheticals for each major topic are provided. Finally, some “tricks” used by professors in class discussion are revealed and discussed, and each major topic ends with an explanation of how to identify and approach that subject on exams.

CALI: Contracts Lessons
- This link opens in a new window
This Subject Area Index lists all CALI lessons covering Contracts.
CALI: Lessons by Subject Outline - Contracts
- This link opens in a new window
This Subject Outline allows you to search for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying to find related CALI Lessons.

Spaced Repetition
Kline School of Law students and faculty have access to Emanuel Law in a Flash flashcards powered by SpacedRepetition.com! The digital flashcard deck includes over 8,100 cards covering 15 course areas, including Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Evidence, and more, and is perfect for reviewing important definitions, hypotheticals, and black letter law throughout the semester and at exam time. You can also create and share custom flashcards and study user-created flashcards covering specific courses, professors, and state-specific bar essay topics.

To create your free Spaced Repetition account, visit https://www.spacedrepetition.com/users/sign_up, then scroll to "Subscribed School Membership" at the bottom and click "Purchase Plan". Sign up using your Drexel email address, and the system will automatically register you under the school's plan.