1L Welcome Guide: Torts

Series: Black Letter Outlines
This text provides tools for a comprehensive and thorough understanding of tort law. It organizes tort law concepts in outline form so that students can see law context and relationships. Updated material includes coverage of comparative fault, products liability, medical and other professional negligence liability, retaliatory discharge, liability for activities causing only economic harm, statute of limitations and repose, causation (market share and enterprise liability, liability for reduced chance), and allocation of damages among tortfeasors. A text correlation chart, cross-references to leading casebooks on tort law, examples, Q&A, and a practice examination are also included.

Series: Examples and Explanations
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course.

Series: Glannon Guides
A highly effective study tool, The Glannon Guide to Torts uses explanatory text and multiple-choice questions to thoroughly review course content.

Series: Hornbooks
This single-volume hornbook provides a comprehensive overview of tort and injury law. The book covers all of the major topics in tort law. Topics include liability for physical injuries, as well as emotional, dignitary, and economic harms. This newly-updated edition includes citations to hundreds of cases and statutes decided over the last decade, as well as references to the Restatement (Third) of Torts.

Series: Mastering Series
Mastering Tort Law is a succinct, practical guide to the intricacies of tort law. Functional in approach, it describes and illustrates basic tort doctrine, and provides students with insight into more advanced tort theories. In an attempt to facilitate student learning, the book includes a roadmap at the beginning of each chapter and a checklist at the end.

Series: Concise Hornbook Series
This edition provides a wealth of new material drawn from summaries of and quotations from scholarly books and articles and case law. The subjects of this new material are rich in their range of topics. They include: The "precautionary principle"; summaries on tort rationales that range from references to Kantian philosophy to a riff on Harry Potter; the relation of tort law to public law; varied materials on consent; the duty question, including a summary of a recent Supreme Court case and scholarship in the area; material on privacy ranging from Prosser's classification system to LGBT plaintiffs; the roles of race and gender in calculations of damages; a criticism of "tort reform" efforts; and case law on the "baseball rule" with respect to spectator injuries.

Series: Short & Happy Guides
In this concise book, Professor Schechter, an award-winning teacher and prominent national bar lecturer, balances brevity and humor with a clear, crisp and thorough review of basic torts doctrine. His comprehensive survey includes not only thorough coverage of core topics, such as negligence and strict products liability, but also provides an overview of the economic and dignitary torts, damages issues, and vicarious liability. As the series title promises, the author has kept it short, and the book will make students happy.

The Siegel's Series works through key topics in a Q&A format, providing an additional source for self-quizzing. A proven resource for high performance, each title in this exam-prep series contains multiple-choice questions and answers, as well as essay questions with model answers.

Series: Nutshells
A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.

Series: Understanding Series
This Understanding treatise is the perfect complement to first-year tort courses and is suitable for use with any tort casebook. Concise and authoritative, Understanding Torts features comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation and invasion of privacy.