1L Welcome Guide: Criminal Law

Series: Emanuel CrunchTime
Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence.

Series: Emanuel Law Outlines
The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines were developed while Steve Emanuel was a student at Harvard Law and were the first to approach each course from the point of view of the student. Invaluable for use throughout your course and again at exam time, Emanuel Law Outlines are well-correlated to all major casebooks to help you to create your own outlines. Sophisticated yet easy to understand, each guide includes both capsule and detailed explanations of critical issues, topics, and black letter law you must know to master the course. Quiz Yourself Q&As, Essay Q&As, and Exam Tips give you ample opportunity to test your knowledge throughout the semester and leading up to the exam.

Series: Examples and Explanations
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

Series: Friedman's Practice Series
Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Friedman's is one of the only series to fully emulate complete essay examinations--they are as close to actual exam-questions that you can find. And as Friedman's texts are compiled by professors who wrote the exams, you get sound advice as well as keen insight on what instructors look for in grading your answers.

Series: Glannon Guides
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you answer them using straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application.

Series: Jumpstart
Jumpstart Criminal Law explores the context in which criminal statutes are drafted and enacted and in which criminal trials and appeals take place by considering the relationship between state and federal criminal prosecutions and trials; the difference between criminal offenses and defenses in different jurisdictions; the steps in the criminal justice process; the separate roles of judge and jury in criminal cases, and their significance; "element analysis" in criminal cases and with criminal statutes; the nature of the different types of criminal law defenses; criminal defense ethics; how, when, and why conduct is criminalized; and the role of mens rea and actus reus in criminal law. Legal reasoning and the criminal justice process are taught through numerous judicial opinions with analysis, presented in a straightforward and informal writing style comprehensible without in-class explanation.

The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Criminal Law lectures, Kelly Strader gives an Introduction to Criminal Law and covers Murder, Conspiracy, Manslaughter, and Murder and Malice. Kent Kasper covers Accomplice Liability, Defenses, Mens Rea Requirements, and Judge vs. Jury. Ray Chao explains Elements of Rape, Strict Liability Crimes, Attempt - Mens Rea, and Elements of a Crime.

Series: In Other Words
The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each video is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In this Criminal Law video, Kelly Strader gives an introduction to Criminal Law.

This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offer the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.

Series: Black Letter Outlines
Written by an experienced law school professor recognized as a national authority in criminal law, Low's Black Letter Outline on Criminal Law summarizes the black letter rules, allowing students to appreciate how different parts of course material fit together. This volume can be used to prepare both for classes and examinations.

Series: Hornbooks
Major emphasis is placed on the basic premises of criminal law, including its sources and general limitations. This Hornbook provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes, accomplice, and liability. Attention is also given to subjects such as causation, insanity, and conspiracy.

Series: Nutshells
This guide helps you gain an overview of and develop perspective on the area of criminal law. It is organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality. It also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.

Series: Exam Pro Series
Description: This study aid contains more than 100 essay questions, some of which focus on specific subject areas, and some of which examine a number of interwoven topics. Together, these questions survey all of the material covered in a typical criminal law course. Each question is accompanied by a comprehensive model answer that can be used to foster a deeper understanding of criminal law and to show students exactly how to apply the rules they learned in class on an actual exam.

Series: Exam Pro Series
This study aid contains more than 200 multiple-choice questions, some of which focus on specific subject areas, and some of which are mixed together in practice exams covering multiple topics. Together, these questions survey most of the material covered in a typical criminal law course.Each question is accompanied by a detailed and thorough explanation of what is the correct answer and what is not. These answers can be used to foster a deeper understanding of criminal law and to show students exactly how to apply the rules they learned in class on an actual multiple-choice exam.

Series: Gilbert Law Summaries
The topics discussed in this criminal law outline are elements of crimes (including actus reus, mens rea, and causation), vicarious liability, complicity in crime, criminal liability of corporations, and defenses (including insanity, diminished capacity, intoxication, ignorance, and self-defense). Also included are inchoate crimes, homicide, other crimes against the person, crimes against habitation (including burglary and arson), crimes against property, offenses against the government, and offenses against the administration of justice.

Series: Concise Hornbook Series
Expertly written to provide comprehensive coverage of the most crucial issues in a course, the Concise Hornbook Series features concise analyses by prominent scholars of basic areas of the law. The Series focuses on core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter. LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy.

Series: Quick Reviews
Sum and Substance Quick Review is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.

Series: Short & Happy Guides
This guide hits the core concepts of criminal law in a memorable way for the beginning student. This second edition adds concise doctrinal outlines for each chapter.

Series: Law School Legends Audio Series
This four-hour audio lecture on criminal law is useful for students who are about to take or are currently taking a course in Criminal Law and who want to use it for class review or exam preparation. But it is also useful for anyone, student or not, who would simply like to gain a more informed sense of just what American criminal law is all about. Coverage includes the traditional, foundational doctrines of criminal law like criminal intent and criminal act, discussing these concepts in dealing with crimes like homicide offenses, assault and sexual assault, theft and other property crimes. This lecture also focuses on traditional and modern defenses to criminal charges, like insanity, self defense, and the modern “Stand Your Ground” laws.

Series: Office Hours
Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

Series: Sum and Substance Audio
This audio lecture overviews the sources and nature of criminal law. Examines the theories of punishment, actus reus, mens rea, mistake of fact, and actual and proximate causation. Also addresses all of the major defenses and the concepts of inchoate and accessory liability. The Sum & Substance Audio Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience - listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The audio lecture provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording.