Intellectual Property Research: Copyright Secondary Sources

Series: Nutshells
Offers a compact yet comprehensive and up-to-date overview of U.S. copyright law in an uncluttered and readable format. Coverage ranges from the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship, and infringement to the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. The evolving doctrines of fair use and contributory liability are also given thorough attention.

Series: Examples and Explanations
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

Series: Questions & Answers
Copyright law determines what it means to own works of authorship, and it does so by means of a complex federal statute. Questions & Answers: Copyright Law helps students navigate this challenging subject matter with multiple choice, short answer, and final exam essay questions that test both the concepts and substantive law of copyright. The second edition includes over fifty new multiple choice questions, as well as three new practice examinations. These additions reflect the latest developments in this ever-changing field, including the implications of U.S. Supreme Court decisions such as Petrella v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Kirtsaeng v. John Wiley & Sons, Inc., Golan v. Holder, and American Broadcasting Cos., Inc. v. Aereo, Inc. The questions and practice exams span the varied landscape of copyright, including: Requirements for copyright protection; Copyrightable subject matter; Ownership of copyright; Protection of exclusive rights; Copyright formalities; Length of copyright protection; Infringement; Fair use and other affirmative defenses; Remedies; and Enhanced protection for digital materials.

The seventh edition of Understanding Copyright is a major revision of this classic student treatise. In addition to including the latest case law developments, this edition incorporates the Music Modernization Act of 2018. The seventh edition covers all aspects of the MMA, a dazzling legislative overhaul of the musical copyright, which, among its other provisions, creates a new blanket license for digital deliveries and provides protection to pre-1972 sound recordings.

A frequently cited multi-volume treatise on copyright law. Available on Lexis.

A frequently cited multi-volume treatise on copyright law. Available in print and on Westlaw.

Available in print and on Westlaw.

An Associate's Guide to the Practice of Copyright Law guides associates through what is typically the most challenging part of their job: knowing where to find information and what specifically they need to complete a particular task or assignment. Written by a senior associate and a supervising partner, the authors rein in the work process for associates and give practice-oriented advice on important topics such as what questions to ask a client, what research to conduct, what elements must be met for various causes of action, the potential repercussions for various actions and the proper alternatives to be considered. The book also includes sample documents and pleadings, references to secondary sources and key cases in copyright law. A CD-ROM containing many forms in electronic format, is included.

Here is a practical copyright handbook designed to help librarians, media specialists, technology coordinators and specialists, and teachers stay within copyright law while making copyrighted print, non-print, and Web sources available to students and others. Library educator Rebecca Butler explains fair use, public domain, documentation and licenses, permissions, violations and penalties, policies and ethics codes, citations, creation and ownership, how to register copyrights, and gives tips for staying out of trouble. She explains copyright considerations for the web, television, videos and DVDs, computer software, music, books, magazines, and journals--materials that can create a day-to-day challenge for educators and require this resource's careful guidance.

Copyright in the world of digital information is changing at a fevered pace, even as educators and librarians digitize, upload, download, draw on databases, and incorporate materials into Web-based instruction. It's essential to stay abreast of the basics of copyright law and fair use. Kenneth D. Crews has completely revised his classic text to remap the territory with fresh, timely insights into applications of copyright law for librarians, educators, and academics. Readers will Learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services Find information quickly with "key points" sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references.

An updated edition of the standard, comprehensive guide to copyright issues affecting schools, this book provides the watertight copyright policy and plan that's a must for every school district. Copyright continues to be a timely topic as technology makes determining who owns what more and more complex. Written by the leading copyright authority for libraries, Copyright for Schools: A Practical Guide, Fifth Edition is a thoroughly updated version of the industry standard on copyright matters affecting schools. Starting with an overview of copyright law, the book goes on to cover specific topics medium by medium, including print, software, music, video, multimedia, and more. It addresses new technologies in common use in schools and school libraries and also includes new cases and interpretations, statutory citations, guidance on best practices, and real life questions and answers to typical copyright dilemmas faced by schools.

Compilation of source documents of copyright law updated with recent decisions.

Guide to copyright laws of certain countries throughout the world.

This book surveys and analyzes the principal legal doctrines affecting copyright practice around the world, in both transactional and litigation settings.

Guide to copyright laws of certain countries throughout the world.

Covers patent, copyright, and trademark laws of China, India, Japan, and Vietnam.