Intellectual Property Research: Patent Secondary Sources

Series: Nutshells
This Nutshell provides a succinct description of the fundamentals of U.S. patent law. Ranging from the acquisition of patent rights to their enforcement, it contains an overview of relevant statutes, rules, and cases that collectively define this area of intellectual property law. Available in print and electronically through West Academic.

Patent Law delivers a succinct, single-volume explanation of the principal legal doctrines, key judicial authority, governing statutes, and guiding policy considerations in obtaining and enforcing a U.S. patent. The text breaks down the often abstract and complex statutes and cases into understandable pieces. A final chapter addresses central aspects of international patent law as they affect U.S. practice. Written at an appropriate level for students with or without technical backgrounds, Patent Law is suitable for use with any patent casebook.

Series: Understanding Series
The third edition of Understanding Patent Law provides important and comprehensive coverage for a foundational understanding of patent law, including summaries, overviews, and examples to illustrate the application of the most abstract and complex doctrines. This treatise includes clear and concise summaries of the major cases, with straightforward descriptions of the technology at issue.

The fourth edition of this indispensable guide provides a simple and accurate introduction to the dynamics and mechanics of patent law, updated with the latest court decisions and reform legislation.

Are you an inventor, law student, engineer, patent agent, or patent attorney? If so, then this book is for you Crash Course on U.S. Patent Law is written in simple, accessible language - a useful resource for the novice inventor and entrepreneur as for the expert patent attorney and law firm clients. While there are numerous books on patent law in the market, Crash Course on U.S. Patent Law provides concrete examples, including invaluable boilerplate language not found on the Internet that is grounded in extensive patent experience.

Many great ideas fail because the inventors do not take the appropriate steps to protect, promote, and profit from their ideas. This friendly guide will walk you through everything that needs to be done before you can expect to realize financial gain from your invention.

This work provides every legal detail needed to understand, secure and protect a patent claim. Chisum on Patents is a recognized authority on US patent law, cited by courts in all jurisdictions as well as the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

Available in print from the LRC and on Westlaw.

Available in print and from Westlaw

Journal containing articles on legal and technical subjects related to patent law.

The Official Gazette for Patents is published each Tuesday in electronic form only, and contains bibliographic (front page) text, a representative claim, and a drawing (if applicable) of each patent issued that week.

Of all the founding fathers, Thomas Jefferson had the most substantial direct experience with the issues surrounding intellectual property rights and their impact on creativity, invention, and innovation. In our own digital age, in which IP has again become the object of intense debate, his voice remains one of the most vital in American history on this crucial subject. Jefferson lived in a time of immense change, when inventions and other creative works impacted the world profoundly. In this atmosphere it became clear that the developers of creative works and the users of those works often have competing interests. Jefferson appreciated as well as anyone that the originators of ideas needed legal protection. He also knew that innovation was crucial for a nation's economic prosperity as well as its political health, and that rights should not become barriers.

Within the complex global economy, patents function as indispensable tools for fostering and protecting innovation. This fascinating volume offers a comprehensive perspective on the US patent system, detailing its many uses and outlining several critical legislative, administrative and judicial reforms that impact business strategy.

Scientific and technological innovations are forcing patent law into the spotlight and revealing its many glaring inadequacies. Take, for example, the patent case that almost shut down the BlackBerry, or the growing phenomenon of patent trolling, in which patents are acquired for the sole purpose of entrapping companies whose products relate to them. And patents on genes have everyone up in arms?and our courts confused. Robin Feldman explains why patents are causing so much trouble. The problem lies in our assumption that patents set clear boundaries for rights to an invention. In reality, they do no such thing. The very nature of inventions makes them impossible to describe unambiguously for all time. When something is so new that we do not understand yet how it works, what it is capable of doing, or how it could be applied?as is often the case in biotechnology?description is necessarily slippery. Instead of hoping for clear boundaries, and moaning when we don't get them, Rethinking Patent Law urges lawmakers to focus on what the law can do well: craft rules that anticipate the bargaining that will occur as rights unfold. By steering clear of laws that distort the bargaining process, lawmakers can help courts answer difficult questions, such as whether genes, software, and business methods constitute patentable subject matter, whether patents in the life sciences should control inventions that have yet to be discovered, and how to resolve the battles between pharmaceutical companies and generics.

The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) encourages participants to use alternative dispute resolution (ADR) processes during post grant proceedings to facilitate resolution of conflicts that have become exceedingly complex. The flexibility and benefits of ADR proceedings are based on the expertise of qualified neutrals such as experienced IP attorneys and former judges and magistrates who are uniquely equipped to evaluate IP issues and settle conflicts in a manner much more streamlined than a Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) proceeding. Patent Neutral: Expanding Use of ADR for Settlement of Patent Disputes at the PTAB describes how these neutrals can be engaged to help parties more efficiently decide IP conflicts, particularly proceedings at the USPTO. Author David L. Newman covers all essential aspects of using ADR to resolve these disputes, including: - The full use of mediation and arbitration during proceedings at the PTAB- Resolution of technology issues present in ongoing IP matters- PTAB criteria that favor or disfavor the use of ADR- Managing confidentiality issues- Use of special masters, and more- Employing new ADR processes, such as alternative licensing resolution and patent small claims court resolution systems, to streamline patent assertion and monetization efforts, and more

Learn about the role that patent models played in American history--and even learn to build your own replica! Patent models, working models required for US patent filings from 1790 to 1880, offer insight into--and inspiration from--a period of intense technological advancement, the Industrial Revolution. The Rothschild Patent Model Collection consists of thousands of patent models, many from the 19th century. This book features the most outstanding of these patent models, and offers deep insight into the cultural, economic, and political history of the United States. This book not only catalogs hundreds of the most compelling models from the collection, but shows you how to build your own replicas of several selected models using Lego, 3D printing, and other materials and techniques.

Baxter World Patent Law describes the complete patent process, from filing to grant, for all industrialized nations. It covers all post-acceptance events, discusses patent terms, renewal fees, infringement and licensing for all nations and regional patent systems. It also details principal patent conventions and covers new legislation as enacted.

A comprehensive guide to the patent laws of more than 180 countries. The treatise summarizes the patent laws of each country, lists the conditions under which patents can be obtained, and provides the complete texts or summaries of the most important international patent treaties along with their signatory members.

Covers patent, copyright, and trademark laws of China, India, Japan, and Vietnam.

In addition to analytical commentary, chapters include the primary legal text of statutes, regulations, and guidance manuals for over 18 Pacific Rim jurisdictions including China, Hong Kong, Australia, New Zealand, India, Japan, Vietnam, and the Koreas.

As a 'Specialized Agency' of the UN, the World Intellectual Property Organization aims to be the premier global forum for intellectual property services, policy, information and cooperation. This practical guide offers a unique insight into how WIPO is governed, described in clear, readily accessible terms for policymakers, scholars and stakeholders. The guide reviews the origins of WIPO and sets out its current functions and activities, presenting a framework for analysing WIPO's complex governance system. Written by a leading WIPO commentator, The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO): A Reference Guide is the first comprehensive reference book to illuminate the nuts and bolts of WIPO governance.

Patent Law Practice Forms provides a comprehensive source of forms and valuable procedural guidance for each stage of the patent litigation and application process.