Intellectual Property Research: Trademark Secondary Sources

Series: Nutshells
This text provides a comprehensive introduction to the law of trademark, unfair competition, false advertising, and the right of publicity. Available in print or electronically through West Academic.

Series: Understanding Series
This treatise is a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to the law of trademarks and unfair competition. It provides a thorough introduction to the federal laws protecting registered trademarks and trade dress, as well as the broad array of federal and state unfair competition doctrines which protect unregistered trademarks and trade dress. Coverage includes the standards and procedures for obtaining federal registration, the rights and remedies available to owners of both registered and common law marks under federal and state law, and the full array of applicable defenses.

Series: Mastering Series
Mastering Trademark provides a clear, concise, presentation of the basic principles underlying and the challenges facing modern trademark law in a digital age. This book traces the evolution of trademark from its origin as a common law tort of unfair competition and associated common law trademark rights to the federal Lanham Trademark Act. The book lays a solid foundation covering the basics of obtaining trademark rights, federal trademark registration practice, trademark infringement, defenses, and remedies. It also discusses state and federal laws governing the protection of famous marks under theories of trademark dilution, as well as the growing field of trade dress protection.

One of the foremost multi-volume treatises on trademark law. Available in print and from Westlaw.

One of the foremost multi-volume treatises on trademark law. Available from Lexis.

Trademark and copyright litigation has become increasingly complex reflecting the ever increasing share of value represented by brands and creative works. As a result, there is a growing demand for practice-tested advice and commentary related to winning strategies. Trademark and Copyright Litigation: Forms and Analysis by Mark V.B. Partridge and Phillip Barengolts is designed to satisfy that demand by offering the actual and recommended sample documents for federal court trademark and copyright litigation.

An essential resource for every trademark practitioner's library, this is a first-of-its-kind treatment of U.S. Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Proceedings (TTAB). Written by a veritable 'Who's Who' of trademark lawyers and specialists in the practice, this book combines legal expertise with practical insights on all facets of TTAB practice and procedure.

Journal containing articles on legal and technical subjects related to patent law.

The Trademark Official Gazette (TMOG) is published each Tuesday and contains bibliographic information and a representative drawing for each mark published, along with a list of cancelled and renewed registrations.

Scholarly journal dedicated to trademark issues. The Trademark Reporter is available through Lexis, HeinOnline and Westlaw.

This treatise offers a complete guide to world trademark law and practice, with detailed coverage of 35 major jurisdictions and summary coverage of another 100.

Describes and explains the phases of an international trademark as it goes from creation to perpetual use.

International Trademark Classification: A Guide to the Nice Agreement helps trademark and IP attorneys properly classify goods and services on trademark applications. It explains the forty-five Classes of goods and services adopted under the Nice Agreement, a worldwide classification system for trademark registration adhered to by more than seventy countries.

European Trademark Law describes all relevant developments in both legislation and case law, in particular of the Court of Justice, offering not only a succinct introduction to the theory, structure and nature of trademark law, but also insightful suggestions for resolving and answering a host of practical problems. As the authors note, their book provides an 'overview of trademark law rather than an overview of trademark legislation.' The authors view the law from different perspectives; they take both the European perspective and the perspective from harmonised national trademark law, in particular as it is in the Benelux countries.

Covers patent, copyright, and trademark laws of China, India, Japan, and Vietnam.

Chinese trademark law will change dramatically in May 2014 when the Third Revision of the Trademark Law institutes various changes, including increased statutory damages for trademark infringement, stronger trademark protections, and obligations on Chinese trademark agencies.

Chinese trademark law has become a hot topic of discussion among scholars and practitioners, both in China and abroad. This book offers the essential information for understanding the Chinese legal regime for trademark registration and administration. It serves as a roadmap for conducting research in this subject area by providing the know-how on finding relevant statutes, regulations, case law, bibliographies, electronic resources, and other useful information. The Guide is a handy reference and valuable tool for legal scholars, law professors, lawyers, and others interested in learning about Chinese trademark law.